GOVERNMENT OF WEST BENGAL DEPARTMENT OF FORESTS ARANYA BHAWAN, BLOCK-LA-10A, SECTOR-III SALT LAKE CITY, KOLKATA-700106

No 1056-For/O/11M-13/2016

Date: 11/07/2025

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the power conferred by sub-section (1) of section 6 of the Wildlife (Protection) Amendment Act, 2008, the Governor is pleased to reconstitute the State Board of Wildlife consisting of the following members.

SL Proposed Members	Designation
1. Smt. Mamata Banerjee, Hon'ble Chief Minister, West Bengal	Chairperson
 Smt. Birbaha Hansda, Hon'ble MoS (Independent Char Department 	
3. Chief Secretary, Govt. of WB	Member
4. Principal Secretary, Forests	Member
5. Principal Secretary, BCW Deptt.	Member
6. PCCF & HoFF, WB	Member
7. Representative of WB Police Dept. (not below the rank of IG)	Member
8. Smt Shatabdi Roy, MP	Member
9. Shri Suman Kanjilal, MLA	Member
10. Shri Udayan Guha, MLA	Member
11. Shri Toraf Hossain Mondal, MLA	Member
12. Smt. Sabitri Mitra, MLA	Member
13. Shri Joydip Kundu, NGO, SHER	Member
14. Shri Animesh Bose, NGO, HNAF	Member
15. Shri Biswajit Roy Chowdhury, NGO, Nature Env & WL society	. Member
16, Shri Debanjan Mandal	Member
17. Shri Nispal Singh Rane	Member
18. Shri Joseph Munda	Member
19. Shri Rajesh Lakra (Tiger), Alipurduar	Member
20. Shri Jayprakash Toppo, MLA	Member
21. MD, WBTDCL	Member
22. Director, Alipur Zoological Garden	Member
23. Director, Deptt. Of Fisheries	Member
24. Director, Dept. of ARD, Govt. of WB	Member
25. Nominee of the Director, Wildlife Preservation	Member
26. Representative of the WL Institute of India, Dehradun	, Member
27. Representative of Botanical Survey of India	Member
28. Representative of Zoological Survey of India	Member
9. Dr. Arabinda Ghosh, Ex-Associate Prof. & HoD, Dept. of Zoolog	3 Member
 Representative of Armed Forces (not below the rank of Brig nominated by GOI) 	adier to be Member
31. Smt. Suniita Ghatak, IFS	Member
32. Chief Wildlife Warden, WB	Member Secretary

The functions of the State Board of Wildlife will be to advise the State Government on :

(a) Selection and management of areas to be declared as Protected Areas.

- (b) Formulation of the policy for protection and conservation of wildlife and specified plants,
- (c) Any matter relating to the amendment of any schedule,
- (d) Measures to be taken for harmonizing the needs of the tribal and other dwellers of the forest with the protection and conservation of wildlife; and
- (e) Any matter connected with the protection of wildlife which may be referred to it by the State Government.

The Board shall meet at least twice a year at such place as the State Government may direct.

fravelling allowances and daily allowances will be payable to non-official members of the Board as adaptsible to Grade 1 Officers of West Bengal.

Principal Secretary to the द्य ने समय

By order of the Governer,

Date: 11/07/2025

No 1056-For/O/11M-13/2016

Copy forwarded for information to

- 1. Smt Shatabdi Roy, MP
- 2. Shri Suman Kanjilal, MLA
- 3. Shri Udayan Guha, MLA
- 4. Foraf Hosanin Mondal, MLA
- 5. Smt. Sabitri Mitra, MLA,
- 6 Shri Jayprakash Toppo, MLA
- 7. The Chief Secretary, Government of West Bengal
- 8. Principal Socretary, Forest Department
- 9. Principal Secretary, BCW Deptt.
- 10 The PCCF & HoFF, West Bengal.
- 11. The Chief Wildlife Warden, West Bengal.
- 12 Smt: Sumita Ghatak, IFS.
- 13. The MD, WBTDCL
- 14 Representative of West Bengal Police Deptt. (not below the rank of IG).
- 15. Representative of Anned Forces (not below the rank of Brigadier to nominate by GOI
- 16 The Director, Deptt. of Fisheries, Govt. of West Bengal.
- 17. The Director, Dept. of ARD, Govi. of West Bengal
- 18. The Director, Alipur Zoological Garden.
- 19. Nominee of the Director, Wildlife Preservation.
- 20. Representative of the WL Institute of India, Dehradun
- 21. Representative of Botanical Survey of India.
- 22. Representative of the Zoological Survey of India. 23. Sri Javelip Kundu, N.G.O Heritage & Ecological Researches (SHER), 7A, Principal Khudiram Bose Road,
- Kolkata-700006 (Contact No.9830092059).
- 24. Shri Animesh Bose, N.G.O.IINAF, House of Mr. K.D. Ghosh, Milanmandir Road, Siliguri. 25. Shri Biswajit Roy Chowdhury, N.G.O. Nature Environment& Wildlife Society, 10. Chowringhee Terracae,
- Kolkata-700 020(Contact No.9831898411). 26. Dr. Arabinda Ghosh, Ex-Associate Prof.& HOD, Vidyanagar College (Contact No.9830536641).
- 27. Shri Debanjan Mandal
- 28. Shri Nispal Singh Rane.
- 29. Shri Joseph Munda.
- 30. Shri Rajesh Lakra(Tiger), Alipurduar.
- 31. The Superintendent, West Bengal Govt, Press. Alipore, Kolkata-700027. -He is requested to publish the Notification in extra-ordinary issue of the Calcutta Gazette and send (50) copies of the same to this department for official use.

Senior Deputy Secretary to the Government of West Bengal

Date: 11/07/2025

No 1056-For/O/IIM-13/2016

Copy forwarded for information to:

- 1. The PS to the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Government of West Bengal 2. The PS to the Hon'ble MoS (Independent Charge), Forest Department

Senior Deputy Secretary to the Government of West Bengal